Schezuan

I’ve been in a really bad mood lately.  Lots o’ stress+ lots o’ whining= not so much fun. But I know that’s all going to change for a few short days. Yes, the Fric to my Frac, the Abbott to my Costello, the Ben to my Jerry, the Gin to my Tonic, The Rogers to my Hammerstein ( I could go on forever, this is too much fun) is coming to visit me!

We’re going to stay up late, laugh ’till it hurts, talk ’till we can’t, eat ’till we’re too full, drink ’till we’re too hungover, cry ’till we…well let’s hope we don’t cry this time. She’s going to tell me what a good mother I am, I’m going to watch her be a good mother.  We’re going to talk about our work, our kids, our husbands, our cities -well her city, my town.

Then we’re going to laugh about old times. Like the time we spent the night before her wedding in the bride and groom’s suite, ordering the “lover’s breakfast for two” and laughing about it until the champagne came out our noses.  We will remember the time our butts stuck together because up North summer is HOT and there’s no air conditioning. We’ll remember Paris, Sonoma, Vegas, New Jersey, Colorado, family vacations, attempting to jet ski — on one jet ski of course, old boyfriends and old friends.

We’ll remember our babies when they were much younger. We’ll remember when we were much younger.

But mostly we’ll just laugh and have a great time.

Then she’ll go back to her city and I’ll stay in my town and I’ll think about how lucky I am to have had a best friend for so long and for so much more time to come. And for a while, all will be right the world.

6 responses to “Schezuan

  1. O.K. that made me cry!! Beautiful and such truth…Have a great time…so funny because I am on my way yo see Beth next week as well!!!! 🙂 Hugs and love, K

  2. NEVER HAVE WORDS BEEN SO MOVING………..YOU ARE A GREAT WRITER, AND I FEEL ALL THOSE THINGS WITH MY BEST FRIEND AS YOU DOOOOOOO…….WE GO THRU LIFE WITH SO MANY CHALLENGES AND UPS AND DOWNS AND IT IS SOOOOOOO WONDERFUL TO HAVE A PERSON IN YOUR LIFE THAT IS CONSTANT THRU IT ALL!!!!!!! OUR HUSBANDS ARE AMAZING AND TO ME A BEST FRIEND, BUT THEY CAN;’T FEEL IT LIKE WOMEN AND AS MUCH AS THEY TRY IT DOESN;T GET TO THEAT LEVEL OF SOUL…….I HAD A BIG REALIZATION YESTERDAY ABOUT MY MOTHER AND HOW MUCH I ADMORE HER AND LOVE HER!!!!!!! LIFE IS A CHALLENGE BUT WHAT A GREAT RIDE WE ARE ALL ON…….WE NEED TO EMBRACE EVER MINUTE BECAUSE IT GOES SO DAMN FAST……..HAVE A BALL WITH THE TWO OF YOU……….ENJOY EVERY MOMENT………XOXOX

    • Husbands are wonderful and mine is one of my great friends — but not my best girl friend! That is something totally different and cannot be replaced nor replicated!
      Thanks for the compliment on the writing 🙂

  3. Since the two of you have been joined at the hip since 7th grade, not sure how your butts stuck together…maybe for another time {:)It’s amazing that you’ve stayed such wonderfully close friends on opposite sides of the country…amazing and wonderful.

    Not quite the same visit we’re having this week, however…know you’ll have great fun

    • What do you mean? We’re having fun!!! Plus, I don’t think she would want to clean my coffee pot with vinegar or organize my laundry room!!!

Leave a Reply

