“I’m sorry, I never really go on my Facebook.”

I started thinking about social media for my work and it led to my own personal post. You see — I just really want my private life out of my work. I think it has gotten out of hand. Don’t get me wrong, I adore Facebook. I mean between the job, the house, the kids, the husband, the cooking, the cleaning, the laundry, the attempt to exercise, the reading, the television,  the keeping in contact with old friends on the phone, the blog, I really love that something  has come into my world which will suck 2 hours away with a blink of the eye.  That being said, I won’t accept or friend anyone at my work.  Facebook is something I look at when I need a break from work, when I’m goofing off and nothing spectacular is happening news wise or on my email.  So do I really need my boss, my employees and whoever else seeing that I have enough time to chat and “thumbs up” a bunch of updates?

I’m not an artist, I don’t own my own business or private island so what I say might have some negative bearing on my “network”. But not with friends, I’m not selling my services, wears or anything besides my opinion and who wants to buy that?   Maybe it’s the environment I work in, or maybe it’s because I bitch a little too much about work in my posts, or maybe I’m the type who only friends people I actually want to spend time with. Or just maybe it’s because I’m a professional trying my hardest to manage others without saying, “You know what…I really don’t care how you do it or how anyone else does it, or how many times you do it and the other person doesn’t, just f#@&in’ do it. Now if you need me, I’ll be  in my office thinking up nasty things to post about you on Facebook, which I’m sure you’ll pop-up as soon as I walk away so I might as well say them to your face.”

Not that I have anything to hide per se. I’m pretty much always myself, you know where I stand and where I don’t. I never hesitate to give my thoughts, opinions, questions, or bar tab to my friends. But I do hold back at work.  I’m not a small person, I have pretty crazy hair, a loud voice, and quite a profanity problem. Needless to say, you know when I’m coming, when I arrive, and when I’m leaving. Due to this, I try to tone it down just a smidgen at work. Ya know, keep my private life private. But it’s hard and yes I do slip in a little shit here and there, a little talk like “Whoa, momma’s gonna hit the Jack hard tonight!” Hardy har har, I’m such a jokester.  I try to at least pretend I’m professional (ok, minus the slips).

People at work will  just have to get to know me minus the witty updates, political rants and the pictures my friends insist on putting up without my permission. Because isn’t the  reason why we’re on Facebook  to show everyone how successfully awesome, gorgeous and skinny we’ve become/are. I’m still working on it…that’s why I keep untagging my name from all of those pictures.  Plus, I really thought I looked good when I left my house, but that 12am picture where I’m getting down on the dance floor?  Not so much.

It’s hard enough to hide those pictures from your friends much less people with whom you’re hoping respect and value your opinion. How am I supposed to be someone’s boss when they see all the pictures from my last trip to Vegas? Come to think of it, 99.9% of my friends on Facebook don’t need to see them…

Yes, because my co-workers need to see this...

Get back to work otherwise you'll look like this or....

this...Enough said.

5 responses to ““I’m sorry, I never really go on my Facebook.”

  1. Your wit,
    your personality,
    your “being”
    makes me smile.
    Don’t ever change, Ms. J.
    😉

  2. fuckin a.
    that ruled.

  3. Juliet ~

    LOVE the new Blog!!! You said it so well! Balance in life is what “life” is all about! If you have people who you work with or work for you, it is hard to move past the “man this weekend was great and when I fell on the dance floor and then puked in the van” comments are posted it is really hard to keep and/or gain any respect. So, good for you!!!

    I also have to say, I am happy to know I am one of your “friends”…..I see I made the cut! WAHOOOO!!!

    Love ya girl and keep the Blod coming!!!

  4. Sandra Renaux

    Julliette, Though I didn’t see you that often here in MD, I miss you. Ystill make me smile. Keep up the blog.

Leave a Reply

