Life, Parenting, Marriage and the occasional nervous breakdown…

I have been reading various blogs for years, but never had the cojones time to write my own. Recently it has become clear, either I express myself and do something I enjoy instead of just work, laundry, cleaning and chauffeuring or I run down the street with a toilet brush in my hand, collapse on my knees and scream, “WWWHHHYYY?” (Yes, I stole that scene from a movie…but it rings so true in my mind, minus the death and carnage.) Plus I’m not sure how this fits into our Homeowner’s Association by-laws, do I need to ask permission of my neighbors to have a public breakdown?

Why “Parenting from the Couch”?  No, it’s not because I spent 10 years with 2, then 3 children, getting a BS degree in Psychology (I can’t tell you how much this degree has increased my earning power — insert lightening strike). No, it’s not because I spent years time “on the couch” with various licensed mental health professionals. It’s because in my own perfect utopia, I would be able to lounge on the couch all day, drift in and out of consciousness, get up for the occasional snack jog while my children rub my feet, confess their admiration for their mother and recite  poetry or their latest thesis on world peace.

Instead I walk around my house and sometimes pick up shoes, dirty socks (a whole blog post in itself), dirty dishes, empty bags of chips and then sink into my couch, yell gently command my children to finish their homework and wonder why I was not chosen as Anthony Bourdain’s sidekick.

Let’s hope this blog keeps me sane and allows some kind of cathartic healing for a life that never was…Plus my couch is getting torn to shreds and my kids have resorted to wearing ear plugs.

Next Post: Why must a trip to Target cost me a $100 for a tube of toothpaste? Deep stuff.

11 responses to “Life, Parenting, Marriage and the occasional nervous breakdown…

  1. Love it~ and definitely understand!!!

  2. I’m so glad you decided to blog! This is gonna be fun 🙂

  3. Thanks so much Karen and Heidi…Now if I just get my husband to proofread it will be wonderful. Always hated writing, so much better at talking.

  4. The new and improved Irma Bombeck emerges!!
    Who can’t relate (mothers or stay at home dads, that is)?

  5. “in my own perfect utopia, I would be able to lounge on the couch all day, drift in and out of consciousness…”

    nice. we share the same dream…..

    p.s. fun read.

  6. I do not believe that you ever did NOT have the cojones to do anything!! Love the blog, and if you need any satellite reporting on the Target topic, I’m in!

  7. Tina in Florida

    Hi Juliet, lovin the idea of u havin a blog! I sooo love your FB post…you are pretty articulate so we REALLY get the picture when u write. Most of it, I can relate to!! LOL Anyway, I look forward your new outlet, hope it helps…us both! LOL

  8. Awesome! I can’t wait to read these!! Perfect outlet for you, too. Thanks for wanting to post my Etsy address. It is http://www.HeatherRenaux.Etsy.com.
    Love you!

  9. I think of you often and now it is wonderful that I can follow your blog. Raising 4 four boys in the 70’s, 80’s & 90’s, Erma Bombeck was my hero. It’s wonderful that you can see parenthood through eyes like Erma. I read her books over and over again, just like I will read your blog. Keep it coming, you are doing great!

    • Hello Sandra, I hope things are going well for you and the family. I loved Erma Bombeck, she could make me laugh and then make me cry!
      I don’t know how you did it with 4 boys!! Thanks for the encouragement.

Leave a Reply

